The HeritageBC Update: Awarding Heritage

Announcing the 2018 Heritage Award Recipients


Outstanding Achievement: Promis Block Seismic Upgrade and Tenant Improvements

Richard Holmes, Pemberton and Son Ltd.
Karl Kaercher, Patterson and Kaercher Ltd.
Eric Kaerche, Kaercher Projects and Construction
Miroslaw Paprotny, Zeidler Architecture
Martin Veenhoven, Zeidler Architecture

Honour: The Station

Aaron Akehurst, PCL Contractors
Tim Knight, Heatherbrae
Donald Luxton, Donald Luxton & Associates Inc.
Graham Morton, Cadillac Fairview
Glade Schoenfeld, RJC Engineers

Recognition: Nordenmark Residence

Jacquie Arnouse, Homeowner
Angus English, Homeowner
Kirsten Sutton, D3 Design
Mark Wittig, Basil Restoration
Elana Zysblat, Ance Building Services

Recognition: The Spencer Building

Antonio Dal Sasso, Harbour Centre
Marcus Dell, RDH Building Science Inc.
Richard Lui, Polaris Realty (Canada) Limited
Shaun Van den Kerkhof, Van den Kerkhof & Son Masonry Ltd.


Outstanding Achievement: Field School

Gabriel Newman Education Coordinator, Greater Vernon Museum and Archives

Honour: Murals

Syd Pickerell, BC Farm Museum Association

Recognition: Surrey: A City of Stories

Ryan Gallagher, Manager Heritage Admin and Facilities, City of Surrey
Michael Gibbs, Chair, Surrey Historical Society
Penny Priddy Book, Committee member, Surrey Heritage Advisory Committee
K Jane Watt, Fenton Street Press
Dave Woods, Surrey City Councillor and Chair of Surrey Heritage Advisory Commission

Recognition: Terrace WWII Interpretive Sign Project

City of Terrace
Northwest Regional Airport
Terrace Air Cadets
Citizens of Terrace

Recognition: Trethewey House Heritage Site Agents of Discovery

Oliver Eberle, Customer Success representative for Agents of Discovery
Alexandra Pony, Director of PR & Social Media at Agents of Discovery


Outstanding Achievement: Queen’s Park Neighbourhood Heritage Study Working Group

Maureen Arvanitidis, NW Heritage Preservation Society Representative, Working Group
David Brett, Vice Chair, Working Group
Councillor Jaimie McEvoy, Chair, Working Group
Steve North, Queen’s Park Residents’ Association Representative, Working Group
Julie Schueck, Liaison, Working Group


And thank you for your passion for conserving, educating and managing heritage throughout British Columbia.

The award recipients will be recognized at the annual conference dinner to be held on Friday, May 11.

Heritage Legacy Fund

Intake begins April 4, 2018
New program details coming soon
Contact Laura Saretsky, Heritage Program Manager

To read the full newsletter, click here.

This entry was posted in News - Heritage, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.