Kootenay Writers Society announces the winners of the Kootenay Literary Competition 2018

The Kootenay Writers Society announces the winners of the Kootenay Literary Competition 2018. Writers from the West and East Kootenay areas submitted exciting, fresh work in 5 categories.

We received 34 submissions from all over the Kootenay area; some from as far away as Invermere, Kimberley and Grand Forks. The judges were looking for originality, creativity, as well as just plain good writing. There were several interesting submissions in the New Canadians Category but the other new Category added this year, Indigenous Writers, saw no entries unfortunately. This was disappointing to both the Organizing Committee and to our judge, Jordan Abel, who was looking forward to encouraging some new voices in that field. We had good submissions in the other categories and we would particularly like to commend the two young writers who won the Youth Category. Well done.

The winners are:


  • First prize: “Seed Saving our Family Tree” by Marte Stuart, Nelson
  • Second prize: “I Will Remember” by Ron Robinson, Nelson


  • First prize: “The Sudden Sorrowful Death…” by Bill Macpherson, Harrop
  • Second prize: “The Gloaming” by Alan Ross, Burton


  • First prize: “The Art of Ironing” by Jana Danniels, Nelson
  • Second prize: “More Than Just My Mother’s Daughter” by Cindy McCallum Miller, Castlegar

New Canadian

  • First prize: “About an Unforgettable Gift” by Elisabeth von Ah, Slocan
  • Second prize: “A New Beginning” by Wilhelmina Triveri, Grand Forks


  • First prize: “Strong” by Bethany Pardoe, Nelson
  • Second prize: “The Seamstress” by Alaska R Hoskins, Castlegar


Winners receive cash prizes and e-publication as part of Selkirk College’s Black Bear Review. Each winner will also receive two copies of a print edition of the anthology.

Our sincere thanks to all the wonderful writers who submitted and to our hard working judges: Avi Silberstein, Patti Humphries, Vivien Bowers and Joan Exley.

On a sadder note we regret to announce that the KLC Organizing Committee is disbanding. The Competition was a fixture of the literary community in the Kootenays from 2004 to 2018. Originally it ran under the auspices of the Nelson and District Arts Council then under the Kootenay Writers Society. However, due to a lack of active volunteer support we are unable to continue this event.

There are many other literary competitions on a provincial or national level and we hope that Kootenay writers continue to produce exciting work and continue to submit their work elsewhere. It has been an honour to work with so many talented writers from across the Kootenays over the years.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2018 competition. Best of luck for future success.

This entry was posted in News - Arts & Culture, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.