Caprice Fine Art & Co August Newsletter – For Mom!

unnamed (5).jpg

News from the Studio

unnamed (6).jpg

Visit Caprice at work in her Studio Gallery!

Photo: L. Charette

 

“I’m pretty sure that the production of art has to do with a sense of well-being. I’ve found that art is at its best when the art more or less takes over your life.”
-Robert Genn, The Painter’s Key’s Twice Weekly Letter
My apologies for not being in touch these past few months.  As Robert says, art is best when it takes over your life.  Art has recently taken a back burner as I spent time with my Mom, Elizabeth, who took ill a few months ago.  With a heavy heart I have to announce that she passed away on July 7th.  My sense of well being has been shattered and I am now in the process of picking up the pieces.  In time, art will help to heal me.  It is a tremendous loss for me personally but also professionally.  Even though it is my name on the paintings and on the newsletters, my Mom is every bit as much of Caprice Fine Art & Co as I am!  She will no longer be here to proofread the newsletters so chances are I will use too many commas.  She will not be critiquing my paintings and as I look at the work on the studio walls I have to wonder are any of these paintings any good?  How will I know?  She was an integral part of merchandising and displays and marketing…and the list goes on and on. So much new ground for me to cover on my own.  I would not be where I am if it wasn’t for her.   One thing is for sure, she taught me well…so I know that in time everything will come together.  I am truly blessed to be surrounded by a great deal of love and support from my friends, family and customers.   I appreciate the support as I find my way in my new life.

unnamed (7).jpg

Mom and I in the garden. :0)

New Paintings

While the oil paints have been collecting dust since February, I managed to pull out the sketchpad and watercolours when some artist friends recently invited me on a paint trip to Fort Steele, BC.   It was a lovely day and a good change of scenery.  Somewhere inside of me, the creative juices still flow…perhaps next month I will have an oil painting to show you?  We shall see…

unnamed (8)

Watercolor painting of the gardens at Lamby House, Fort Steele, BC (I must like that t-shirt!)

Art Lessons

In the spring, despite the huge amounts of snow and the abundance of flu bugs, I had the pleasure of teaching two more groups of students at Centre 64 Art Gallery.  It is crazy how much fun we all had!  My students produced some amazing paintings.  To see photos from the class please go to my Facebook page by clicking here.  We had such a good time that I am planning on doing it all again starting in September. Classes will be on Thursday evenings or Sundayafternoons.  Please go to the website for more details and to register.  Spots fill up very quickly and space is limited, so please do not delay.

unnamed (9).jpg

The Sunday Class:  L to R: Sioban, Barrie, Don, Joan, Barb, Ursula and Sue
Missing: Laura, Linda, Anne, Jeanie, Kim & Louise

 

unnamed (10).jpg

The Thursday Class:  L to R Back: George, Kay, Sonya, Brigitte, Sioban, Chris
L to R Front: Anita, Caprice & Louise
Missing:  Ellen, Gail, Ian and Susan

As always, private lessons at Caprice Fine Art Studio Gallery are also available if you would prefer one-on-one classes.  Please emailme for more information and to book a time.

Painting from the Vault!

The fun thing about being an artist is that good memories come flooding back to me when I look at old paintings.  I did this painting in 2001 after Mom and I took a trip together to Vancouver Island.  It was a memorable trip and we enjoyed staying in this eclectic, quirky house with a beautiful garden in Victoria.   When this painting didn’t sell, it wound up hanging on the wall in our kitchen!  Another good thing about being an artist is that you never have a shortage of art for your own walls!  HA!

unnamed (11).jpg

‘Victoria House’, oil on canvas, 24″X20″, private collection, Kimberley, BC www.capriceartstudio.com

IN OTHER NEWS!

The “2018 Kootenay Rockies Art” Calendar is now available from Caprice Fine Art & Co!  Caprice paintings are featured in the month of August as well as yummy recipes from local restaurants.  The price for the calendar is $22 and there is no tax and shipping is free!  To order your copy please go to the website or email me directly.

unnamed (12)

The “2018 Kootenay Rockies Art” Calendar.
The Caprice Fine Art & Co Studio Gallery is open sporadically through the months of August and September as I am still not back to work full time.   If you plan on being in the Kimberley area and would like to stop by for a visit please send me an email and I will be sure to be here.  I always welcome visitors!
Wishing you all a wonderful long weekend.  I hope you spend it with those who you love.  Stay safe!
Caprice

This entry was posted in News - Arts & Culture, News Provincial / National / International, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.